2011 Event

In 2011, San Diego Magazine and Cox Business continued the tradition of celebrating the Top Tech Executives in San Diego. 154 outstanding leaders in technology were nominated by their peers, 131 qualified as Top Technology Exec finalists, while 23 were recognized for their support as Industry Allies. Nine of the Top Tech Executives were spotlighted as honorees and two were chosen as special award honorees. All of these individuals were lauded on May 11, 2011 at a festive event at the Del Mar Fairgrounds.


Dave Baker, Websense, Inc.
Steve Beal, Covario
Gary Devan, Mission Federal Credit Union
Kelly Gunning, BAE Systems
Darryl LaGace, San Diego Unified School District
Eric Logie, Alvarado Hospital
John Merritt, YMCA of San Diego County
Tad Reynales, UCSD, Calit2
W. Harold Tuck, County of San Diego


William A. Spooner, Sharp Healthcare


James Cooper, Thomas Jefferson School of Law


Steve Romeo (Judging Chair)

Bruce Carothers, AMN Healthcare
Dana Di Ferdinando, Arena Pharmaceutical
Dave Druker, Dataskill
Jim Haskin, 2009 Information Technology Executive of the Year
Fritz Hesse, Mitek Systems
Debra Jensen, Charlotte Russe
Bob Millington, Veterans Medical Research Foundation
Robert Slapin, San Diego Software Industries Council
Brad Williams, Illumina, Inc.

To view photographs from the 2011 Top Tech Exec Awards, please click here.